Hi! 👋

My name is Soumil Roy. I’m a 30 year old Web Developer currently residing in Kolkata. I have been working from home since 2013, way before the pandemic hit the world.

What I do

I’m a product designer & developer. I have been an integral part of 3 startup companies, where I have exclusively designed, authored, and marketed my handcrafted software.

Myself

By nature, I’m an ambivert, but I keep to myself mostly. Getting into awkward social situations is my expertise even though I never trained for it 😅. Recently I have joined Toastmasters International to improve my communication and confidence.

I have my own goals & ambitions that I want to achieve in this lifetime. My first and foremost ambition is to start my own software company by 2024 as I’m acquiring the necessary expertise and a long list of clients who will help me actualize my dream.

My second desire is to travel the world. As the son of a para-military officer, I have been fortunate enough to travel to various places and experience various cultures & traditions and I intend to keep it that way even though my father retired in 2017.

As for my musical tastes, I’m very fond of synthwave/vaporwave genre of music though not strictly restricted to it. Any form of music that has a progressive message gets to my playlist.

I barely get time to watch movies, but when time permits I find myself enjoying comedies, suspense, and narrative rich series like Dark or The Expanse.

Life defining moments

I believe in every person’s life there are moments that redefine one’s own character. I’m fortunate to have experienced such moments myself.

Some of the moments include walking on a desolate beach alone at night, taking a shower under a waterfall, and kayaking in the backwaters, and more.

I hope moments like these continue to change my perspective about the world we live inhabit.

Things I look forward to in life

Like everyone else, I too have a desire to achieve financial freedom, but it’s not the only thing I want to focus on.

My trip to Andamans in 2019 has made me realize the extent of ocean pollution. Seeing beautiful white beaches littered with plastics drilled a hole into my heart. I felt ill-equipped to do anything about it and I want to change that feeling.

Besides personal goals, I want to take an ideological stand against ocean & mountain pollution and advocate for cleaner alternatives.


Personal Details

Name: Soumil Roy
Age: 30
Education: HS, BE dropout (2011), Completed Certificate Course in Graphic Design (2012)

Profession

  • Worked as a Junior Developer for a startup in Bangalore (2011)
  • Freelance Developer (2013 – current) (LinkedIn, UpWork)

Skills & Hobbies

Photos